Apsny / Apkhazeti / Abhazia
Flag Coat of arms

Anthem: "Aiaaira"

Location of Sri Lanka

Capital Sukhumi
43°00′N 40°59′E / 43, 40.983
Official languages Abkhaz, Russian1
 -  President Sergei Bagapsh
 -  Prime Minister Alexander Ankvab
De facto independence from Georgia
 -  Declared 23 July 1992 
 -  Recognition none 
Currency Russian ruble (RUB)
1 Russian has co-official status and widespread use by government and other institutions.
Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia
Flag Coat of arms

Anthem: "თავისუფლება"

Capital Sukhumi (de jure)
Chkhalta (de facto)
Official languages Abkhaz, Georgian
 -  Chairman,
Cabinet of Ministers

Malkhaz Akishbaia
 -  Chairman, Supreme Council Temur Mzhavia
De facto independence from Georgia
 -  Declared 23 July 1992 
 -  Recognition none 
Currency Georgian lari (GEL)

Abkhazia (pronounced /ębˈkeɪʒə/ or /ębˈkɑːziə/, Abkhaz: Аҧсны Apsny, Georgian: აფხაზეთი Apkhazeti or Abkhazeti, Russian: Абха́зия Abhazia) is a region in Georgia that is a de facto independent[1][2][3][4] republic[5][6] with no international recognition. It is located within the internationally recognized borders of Georgia on the eastern coast of the Black Sea and borders the Russian Federation to the north. Under Georgia's official subdivision, it is an autonomous republic (Georgian: აფხაზეთის ავტონომიური რესპუბლიკა, Abkhaz: Аҧснытәи Автономтәи Республика), with Sukhumi as its capital, bordering the region of Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti to the east.

A secessionist movement of the Abkhaz ethnic minority in the region led to the declaration of independence from Georgia in 1992 and the Georgian-Abkhaz armed conflict from 1992 to 1993 which resulted in the Georgian military defeat and the mass exodus and ethnic cleansing of Georgian population from Abkhazia. In spite of the 1994 ceasefire accord and the ongoing UN-monitored and Russian-dominated CIS peacekeeping operation, the sovereignty dispute has not yet been resolved and the region remains divided between the two rival authorities, with over 83 percent of its territory governed by the Russian-backed Sukhumi-based separatist government and about 17 percent governed by the Government of the Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia, recognized by Georgia as the legal authority of Abkhazia, located in the Kodori Valley, part of Georgian-controlled Upper Abkhazia. This dispute remains a source of serious tension between Georgia and Russia.